New Zealand Rugby & Travel info for Rugby Championship, Rugby World Cup, Bledisloe Cup, Super Rugby, ITM Cup and more. Photo: Tourism New ZealandNew Zealand Rugby & Travel info for Rugby Championship, Rugby World Cup, Bledisloe Cup, Super Rugby, ITM Cup and more. Photo: Tourism New Zealand


An independent rugby & travel guide for rugby fans

General sponsor of THE NEW ZEALAND RUGBY TRAVELLER becomes DashTickets which lets you play casino online for real money by choosing the highest-rated casino brand in New Zealand.

The Rugby Championship was a new tournament in 2012. Previously the Tri Nations held between Australia's Wallabies, New Zealand's All Blacks and South Africa's Springboks, in 2012 the Argentinian Pumas were included to make it a 4 way contest, won by the All Blacks. New Zealand won the 2013 , 2014 and 2016 Championships. Australia won in 2015.

The New Zealand All Blacks were the winners of the previous Tri Nations tournament in 2008, and 2010. South Africa won in 2009 and Australia in 2011.

Rugby Championship

You can view recent results and fixture dates etc on the Sanzar site

This competition is organized by SANZAR, a consortium formed by the rugby governing bodies of Australia's ARU, New Zealand's NZRFU and South Africa's SARFU.

Previously called the Tri Nations Championship and held between the Australian Wallabies, the New Zealand All Blacks and the South African Springboks, from 2012 it will also include the Argentinian Pumas and be called the Rugby Championship.

For information about the previous Tri Nations tournament visit our Tri Nations page or results archive page.

Due to various sponsorship arrangements, this will be known as The Castle Rugby Championship in South Africa, The Investec Rugby Championship in New Zealand and The Castrol Edge Rugby Championship in Australia.

2014 results

16 Aug, Australia v New Zealand, Sydney (Draw 12-12) ***
17 Aug, South Africa v Argentina, Pretoria (South Africa won 13-6)
23 Aug, New Zealand v Australia, Auckland (All Blacks won 51-20) ***
24 Aug, Argentina v South Africa, (South Africa won 33-31)
06 Sep, New Zealand v Argentina, Napier (All Blacks won 28-9)
06 Sep, Australia v South Africa, Perth (Australia won 24-23)
13 Sep, New Zealand v South Africa, Wellington (All Blacks won 14-10)
13 Sep, Australia v Argentina, Gold Coast (Australia won 32-25)
27 Sep, Argentina v New Zealand (All Blacks won 34-13)
28 Sep, South Africa v Australia, Cape Town (South Africa won 28-10)
05 Oct, South Africa v New Zealand, Johannesburg (South Africa won 27-25)
05 Oct, Argentina v Australia (Argentina won 21-17)

*** These games are also Bledisloe Cup matches.

In 2014, the All Blacks therefore retain the Rugby Championship for another year in spite of the last minute gripping loss to South Africa!

The All Blacks won the 2013 Rugby Championship for the second straight year with their sensational win over South Africa on 6 October. It was a wonderful game with both teams fully committed to gaining a bonus point. This lead to a high scoring running game that was an great spectacle. Both teams deserve credit for the quality of the play in this 9 try thriller. Bring on more games like this!

The New Zealand All Blacks also resoundingly won the Rugby Championship in 2012 finishing with 26 points. South Africa finished with 12 points, Australia with 12 points and Argentina with 4 points.

A full games schedule for all All Blacks games (including against Ireland), and any other results are on the games page.

Since the inception of the Tri Nations series, the games played between Australia and New Zealand also determine the winner of the Bledisloe Cup each year.

The Rugby Championship tournament opens after the completion of the Super rugby competition for the year because players from the SANZAR countries are involved in both.

The winners of the Tri Nations were determined by a points system. This is the same new Championship:

  • 4 points for a win
  • 2 points for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss
"Bonus points" could also be earned in any given match and count toward deciding the series winner. A team may could earn one bonus point in each of the following ways (to a total of two points):
  • By scoring four or more tries in the match, regardless of the final result of the match.
  • By losing by seven points (a converted try) or fewer.
A victorious team could collect either 4 or 5 points, depending on whether or not it scored 4 tries. A losing team could collect from 0 to 2 points. At the end of the series the team with the most points was declared the winner. If teams ended level on points the first tiebreaker was points differential, followed by number of tries during the series. However, the Tri Nations never finished in a tie for the top spot.

For travel information about venue towns and the rest of New Zealand go to our Travel Zone section. For stadium information go to our Rugby Venues page.

Start supporting your favourite Rugby Championship Nations team by purchasing their rugby gear here!!!

Search for keywords or phrase

NZ Rugby information    Send information about this site to a friend

Featured Ads