New Zealand Rugby & Travel info for Rugby Championship, Rugby World Cup, Bledisloe Cup, Super Rugby, ITM Cup and more. Photo: Tourism New ZealandNew Zealand Rugby & Travel info for Rugby Championship, Rugby World Cup, Bledisloe Cup, Super Rugby, ITM Cup and more. Photo: Tourism New Zealand


An independent rugby & travel guide for rugby fans

General sponsor of THE NEW ZEALAND RUGBY TRAVELLER becomes DashTickets which lets you play casino online for real money by choosing the highest-rated casino brand in New Zealand.

The Tri Nations was an annual international rugby union series held between Australia's Wallabies, New Zealand's All Blacks and South Africa's Springboks.

The New Zealand All Blacks were the winners of the Tri Nations tournament in 2008, and 2010. South Africa won in 2009.

Tri Nations Rugby

The Tri Nations competition was organized by SANZAR, a consortium formed by the rugby governing bodies of Australia's ARU, New Zealand's NZRFU and South Africa's SARFU. From 2012 this willl also include the Argentinian Pumas and be called the Rugby Championship.

The first tournament was contested in 1996 and was won by the All Blacks. Since the inception of the Tri Nations series, the games played between Australia and New Zealand also determine the winner of the Bledisloe Cup each year.

The Tri Nations rugby tournament opened after the completion of the Super 15 competition for the year because players from the SANZAR countries were involved in both. The Tri Nations tournament for 2011 ran from 23 July and finished on 27 August when Australia played New Zealand in Brisbane.

2011 games were:

July 23 2011 Australia v South Africa Sydney (Winners Australia 39-20)
July 30 2011 New Zealand v South Africa Wellington (Winners All Blacks 40-7)
August 6 2011 New Zealand v Australia Auckland (Winners All Blacks 30-14) ***
August 13 2011 South Africa v Australia Durban (Winners Australia 14-9)
August 20 2011 South Africa v New Zealand Port Elizabeth (Winners South Africa 18-5)
August 27 2011 Australia v New Zealand Brisbane (Winners Australia 25-20) ***

*** these games were also Bledisloe Cup matches.

So Australia were the winners of the Tri Nations series for 2011.

For match information about the new Rugby Championship, visit the Games schedule page.

The winner of the Tri Nations was determined by a points system:

  • 4 points for a win
  • 2 points for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss
"Bonus points" could also be earned in any given match and count toward deciding the series winner. A team may could earn one bonus point in each of the following ways (to a total of two points):
  • By scoring four or more tries in the match, regardless of the final result of the match.
  • By losing by seven points (a converted try) or fewer.
A victorious team could collect either 4 or 5 points, depending on whether or not it scored 4 tries. A losing team could collect from 0 to 2 points. At the end of the series the team with the most points was declared the winner. If teams ended level on points the first tiebreaker was points differential, followed by number of tries during the series. However, the Tri Nations never finished in a tie for the top spot.

For travel information about venue towns and the rest of New Zealand go to our Travel Zone section. For stadium information go to our Rugby Venues page.

Start supporting your favourite Tri Nations team by purchasing their rugby gear here!!!

Search for keywords or phrase

NZ Rugby information    Send information about this site to a friend

Featured Ads